King David Medical College Uburu gets NUC approval

National Universities Commission, (NUC) has given approval for the establishment of King David University of Medical Sciences, Uburu, in Ohaozara local government area of Ebonyi State, as the 197TH University in Nigeria.

Construction of the medical college became a necessity after the then EBSUTH was merged with Federal Medical Center, Abakaliki by governor Martin Elechi.

The Federal Medical Center was later converted to Federal Teaching Hospital Abakaliki, (FETHA). With the establishment of Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo, Medical College, FETHA, was ceded to the federal university to become AE-FUTHA, thereby leaving Ebonyi State Medical Students with no where to be trained.

After the take over of FETHA, Umahi promised to relocate the Ebonyi State college of Medicine, Presco, from its temporary location in Abakaliki, to Uburu, his home town where he will build for the state college a world medical facility for the training of EBSU medical students.

With the approval of David Umahi Medical College Uburu, Ebonyi state college of medicine students, now have a place to be trained.
Governor Umahi announced the approval on Tuesday, July 6, 2021 after receiving the letter from NUC.


He said: Earlier today, we received the approval letter for the establishment of David Nweze Umahi University of Medical Sciences, Uburu from the NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed.


“We are happy that we have the opportunity to change the narrative in this direction and we are grateful to Mr. President, Muhammadu Buhari for the financial support in building the Cancer and Isolation centers inside the University.


“It is my prayer that this institution will close the gap that is causing our people to embark on foreign medical trips/studies as it is designed to solve medical challenges that take our people outside the country”.


In a released by the state commissioner for Information, Barr. Orji Uchenna Orji, he hinted that the university will offer about 23 courses which include, Medicine & Surgery, Nursing, Medical Laboratory Science, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Health Policy & Health Systems, Hospital Administration.

While major centers/units of the Teaching Hospital include, “Maternal & Child Care Centre, which will undertake all aspects of maternal and child health care including women health, pregnancy, nursing mothers, children healthcare etc.

“Cancer Treatment/Oncology Centre, will undertake all aspects of cancer/oncology treatment.
“Eye Centre Centre, to undertake all aspects of eye care in all specialties among others”, he added

Leave a Reply